The Zodiac

Ever since humans have roamed the world they have looked to the heavens for understanding. The sun, moon, and stars are a constant fascination to the human race. Early on, we found patterns in the celestial mosaic and stories were told. We developed these stories of the night sky into a system of beliefs. Even to this day our fascination persists. In newspapers and online we still see horoscopes telling us what our day is to bring based on the date we were born.


There are twelve signs in the zodiac, and each one possesses its own strengths and weaknesses. Each has it’s own specific traits, desires and attitude towards life and people. By analyzing the position of planets, sun and moon we can determine a person’s Zodiac sign. Astrology provides a glimpse of a person’s basic characteristics, tendencies, strengths and weaknesses based on this birth information.

Each of the twelve zodiac signs belongs to one of four elements – Air, Water, Fire, and Earth. These elements represent a balance of energy types acting within each of us. Astrology helps us focus on the positive aspects of our sign and gain a better understanding of our potential. It also helps us identify our positive and negative traits so we can learn to improve ourselves.

These elements define the unique personality types associated with a person’s  astrological sign. These zodiac elements exert an influence on our primal character traits, emotions, behavior and attitude towards the world around us.

Air Signs – Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

Air Signs are rational, social, and love communication and relationships with other people. They are thinkers, friendly, intellectual, communicative and analytical. They love philosophical discussions, social gatherings and good books. They enjoy giving advice, but they can also be very superficial. 

Water Signs Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

Water Signs are exceptionally emotional and ultra-sensitive. They are highly intuitive and they can be as mysterious as the ocean itself. Water signs love profound conversations and intimacy. They rarely do anything openly and are always there to support their loved ones. 

Fire Signs – Aries, Leo and Sagittarius

Fire Signs tend to be passionate, dynamic, and temperamental. They get angry quickly, but they also forgive easily. Fire signs are adventurers with immense energy. They are physically very strong and are a source of inspiration for others. Fire signs are intelligent, self-aware, creative and idealistic people, always ready for action. 

Earth Signs – Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn

Earth Signs are “grounded” and the ones that bring us down to earth. They are mostly conservative and realistic, but they can also be very emotional. They are connected to our material reality and can be turned to material goods. Earth signs are practical, loyal and stable and they stick by their people through hard times. 

The Zodiac Signs

Following are the signs and the personality traits each Zodiac sign embodies:

Aquarius – Air January 20 – February 18


  • Strengths: Progressive, original, independent, humanitarian
  • Weaknesses: Runs from emotional expression, temperamental, uncompromising, aloof
  • Aquarius likes: Fun with friends, helping others, fighting for causes, intellectual conversation, a good listener
  • Aquarius dislikes: Limitations, broken promises, being lonely, dull or boring situations, people who disagree with them

Pisces – Water February 19 – March 20


  • Strengths: Compassionate, artistic, intuitive, gentle, wise, musical
  • Weaknesses: Fearful, overly trusting, sad, desire to escape reality, can be a victim or a martyr
  • Pisces likes: Being alone, sleeping, music, romance, visual media, swimming, spiritual themes
  • Pisces dislikes: Know-it-all, being criticized, the past coming back to haunt, cruelty of any kind

Aries – Fire March 21 – April 19


  • Strengths: Courageous, determined, confident, enthusiastic, optimistic, honest, passionate
  • Weaknesses: Impatient, moody, short-tempered, impulsive, aggressive
  • Aries likes: Comfortable clothes, taking on leadership roles, physical challenges, individual sports
  • Aries dislikes: Inactivity, delays, work that does not use one’s talents

Taurus – Earth April 20 – May 20


  • Strengths: Reliable, patient, practical, devoted, responsible, stable
  • Weaknesses: Stubborn, possessive, uncompromising
  • Taurus likes: Gardening, cooking, music, romance, high quality clothes, working with hands
  • Taurus dislikes: Sudden changes, complications, insecurity of any kind, synthetic fabrics

Gemini – Air May 21 – June 20


  • Strengths: Gentle, affectionate, curious, adaptable, ability to learn quickly and exchange ideas
  • Weaknesses: Nervous, inconsistent, indecisive
  • Gemini likes: Music, books, magazines, chats with nearly anyone, short trips around the town
  • Gemini dislikes: Being alone, being confined, repetition and routine

Cancer – Water June 21 – July 22


  • Strengths: Tenacious, highly imaginative, loyal, emotional, sympathetic, persuasive
  • Weaknesses: Moody, pessimistic, suspicious, manipulative, insecure
  • Cancer likes: Art, home-based hobbies, relaxing near or in water, helping loved ones, a good meal with friends
  • Cancer dislikes: Strangers, any criticism of Mom, revealing of personal life

Leo – Fire July 23 – August 22


  • Strengths: Tenacious, highly imaginative, loyal, emotional, sympathetic, persuasive
  • Weaknesses: Moody, pessimistic, suspicious, manipulative, insecure
  • Cancer likes: Art, home-based hobbies, relaxing near or in water, helping loved ones, a good meal with friends
  • Cancer dislikes: Strangers, any criticism of Mom, revealing of personal life

Virgo – Earth August 23 – September 22


  • Strengths: Loyal, analytical, kind, hardworking, practical
  • Weaknesses: Shyness, worry, overly critical of self and others, all work and no play
  • Virgo likes: Animals, healthy food, books, nature, cleanliness
  • Virgo dislikes: Rudeness, asking for help, taking center stage

Libra – Air September 23 – October 22


  • Strengths: Co-operative, diplomatic, gracious, fair-minded, social
  • Weaknesses: Indecisive, avoids confrontations, will carry a grudge, self-pity
  • Libra likes: Harmony, gentleness, sharing with others, the outdoors
  • Libra dislikes: Violence, injustice, loudmouths, conformity

Scorpio – Water October 23 – November 21


  • Strengths: Resourceful, brave, passionate, stubborn, a true friend
  • Weaknesses: Distrusting, jealous, secretive, violent
  • Scorpio likes: Truth, facts, being right, longtime friends, teasing, a grand passion
  • Scorpio dislikes: Dishonesty, revealing secrets, passive people

Sagittarius – Fire November 22 – December 21


  • Strengths: Generous, idealistic, great sense of humor
  • Weaknesses: Promises more than can deliver, very impatient, will say anything no matter how undiplomatic
  • Sagittarius likes: Freedom, travel, philosophy, being outdoors
  • Sagittarius dislikes: Clingy people, being constrained, off-the-wall theories, details

Capricorn – Earth December 22 – January 19


  • Strengths: Responsible, disciplined, self-control, good managers
  • Weaknesses: Know-it-all, unforgiving, condescending, expecting the worst
  • Capricorn likes: Family, tradition, music, understated status, quality craftsmanship
  • Capricorn dislikes: Almost everything at some point

The Only

Astrology Book

You’ll Ever Need

The Complete

Guide to 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights